Home Page

Jigsaw - the mindful approach to PSHE Curriculum

At Newlands Primary School, we have introduced a whole school PSHE scheme called Jigsaw. Jigsaw combines PSHE, mindfulness, spiritual development, emotional literacy and social skills.


Jigsaw is a whole school approach, with each year group working on the same theme (Puzzle) at the same time. This enables each Puzzle to start with a whole school introductory assembly, generating a whole school focus on that particular theme for the children.


There are six Puzzles (half-term units), each with six Pieces (lessons). Every year group studies the same Puzzle at the same time (in order from September to July), allowing for whole school themes.


Each year group is taught one lesson per week and all lessons are delivered in an age and stage appropriate way so that it meets the needs of all children.


The different puzzle pieces are:

  • Being Me in My World
  • Celebrating Difference
  • Dreams and Goals
  • Healthy Me
  • Relationships
  • Changing Me


Relationships & Sex Education


An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the 'Relationships' and 'Changing Me' puzzle pieces, which are covered in the summer term. 


There are four main aims of teaching RSE:


  • To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
  • To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and    development
  • To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
  • To empower them to be safe and safeguarded


Each year group will be taught appropriate to their age and developmental stage


Below is a summary of RSE coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:


  • Foundation Stage - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies
  • Year 1 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts
  • Year 2 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)
  • Year 3 - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older
  • Year 4 - Internal and external reproductive body parts, body changes in girls and menstruation
  • Year 5 - Puberty for boys and girls, and conception
  • Year 6 - Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby

Jigsaw Overview Map

JIGSAW Progression Document